Are oats gluten free?
Oats do not contain gluten, but they can very easily become contaminated. Wheat, barley and rye are often grown in fields right beside oats and so stray wheat can often be found in oat fields. In fact, with crop rotation the same field could be used to grow wheat one year and then oats the next, so some what may still remain in the field amongst the rest of the oats. Contamination can also take place at the mill, which is also used to process what, barley and rye. So the standard oats that you buy in the supermarket will more than likely contain some gluten and so will not be suitable for people with coeliac disease or gluten sensitivities.
The problem is that oats can be labelled as “100% Oats”, “Pure Oats” or “Organic Oats” but can still contain gluten. Instead, you have to look out for oat products that are specifically labelled as being “Gluten Free”. This is a legally protected term and means that the oats contain less than 20 parts per million (ppm).
Mislabelling a product as “gluten free” when it isn’t is an extremely serious offence – General Mills had to recall 1.8m boxes of Cheerios due to the possible presence of wheat. Turned out that due to an off-loading error, wheat flour was also unloaded at the production facility alongside oat flour. The bottom line is that even small levels of gluten could cause adverse health effects for those with wheat allergies, celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
So Coeliacs can eat gluten free oats?
The vast majority can. But a very small number of people with coeliac disease who may sensitive to a protein in oats called “avenin”. However, research has shown that most people with coeliac disease can safely eat avenin.
Is Wyldsson a Gluten Free producer?
Yes. We only use gluten free oats, which are supplied by Glanbia – an Ireland-based global supplier of food items, supplements, and dairy ingredients. They take the greatest care in all stages of oats processing, from harvesting to the final steps of processing as the oats are milled in one of the only gluten free “oats-only” processing plants in Europe.
“We control the crop from seed right through until harvest and then we carry out the harvest ourselves so at all stages we are eliminating any risk of contamination,”
This ensures that the oats you get are indeed ‘gluten free’. Their oats are approved and licensed by the Coeliac UK, the Spanish Federation of Coeliac Association (FACE), and the Coeliac Society of Ireland.
What gluten free food options do you have?
Check out our award winning gluten free muesli, (which is registered with Coeliac UK), also worth taking a look at our gluten free cereal bars, our gluten free porridge oats and our gluten free porridge bread mix.
Why bother eat oats at all?
- Oats are low in fat and saturated fat
- Oats have a medium glycaemic Index
- Oats are high in soluble fibre
- Oats are low in salt and sugar
- Oats contain a variety of vitamins and minerals
Er, what is Coeliac disease?
- Coeliac disease is a lifelong autoimmune disease caused by a reaction to gluten
- 1 in 100 people have the condition
- Symptoms include bloating, diarrhoea, nausea, wind, constipation, tiredness, sudden or unexpected weight loss (but not in all cases), hair loss and anaemia
- Once diagnosed, it is treated by following a gluten-free diet for life
- Dermatitis herpetiformis is the skin manifestation of coeliac disease
- How do I find out if I have Coeliac disease?
If you think you might have coeliac disease, take the online assessment at isitcoeliacdisease.org.uk). Once diagnosed, the only long-term solution is to eliminate all sources of gluten from your diet and shift to a ‘gluten free diet’.
So if I’m Coeliac what can I eat?
The problem with going to a gluten free diet is that wheat, barley and rye are in so much of the everyday food products we eat. But fear not – there are plenty of other options too. The following grains and other starch-containing foods are naturally gluten-free:
- Corn (maize)
- Buckwheat groats (also known as kasha)
- Nut flours
- Gluten Free Oats
PS: Looking for some gluten free breakfast ideas? Check out our award winning gluten free muesli, (which is registered with Coeliac UK), also worth taking a look at our gluten free cereal bars, our gluten free porridge oats and our gluten free porridge bread mix.